Membership

Local Produce Supported as Sponsors of Taste Local Awards 2019 Announced

Wednesday, 27 February 2019 Industry news

Share this article

Back to all news

Food distributors Williamson Foodservice and Brakes Scotland have shown their commitment to supporting local produce in the region by signing up as sponsors of the Skye & Lochalsh Taste Local Awards 2019, which take place tonight (27 Feb 2019).

The two foodservice companies are supporting the awards, which celebrate the use of local food by food and drink businesses in Skye & Lochalsh, as they seek to discover new local products and producers to add to their own distribution networks.

The Taste Local Awards are run by the Skye & Lochalsh Food Link CIC in partnership with Skye Connect and also raise awareness of the Food Link van service operated by Skye & Lochalsh Food Link CIC, which helps connect smaller suppliers and producers and distribute local produce.

The award winners will be revealed at a presentation ceremony to be held at the Sligachan Hotel on the Isle of Skye on 27 February 2019. 21 local businesses have been shortlisted across ten categories for their dedication to using local produce within their business. Winners will receive a ’Taste of Local Food’ plaque which they can use to help promote their use of local food by mounting on the outside of their premises.

Gary Williamson, managing director of Williamson Foodservice, said:

“The hospitality sector in Skye and Lochalsh is a significant one for Williamson Foodservice and we are delighted to be able to support the Taste Local Awards 2019. We are strong advocates for local food and drink provenance and are always looking for high quality products with great stories.”
“Over the last 12 months we have invested around £1million in new vehicles that are most suitable for Highland roads. This allows us to deliver food and drink as quickly as possible and in optimum condition to some of the most rural Highland areas. Recent recognition as Scotland’s Top Chilled Distribution Haulier confirms this.”

Lorna Allison, marketing manager for Brakes Scotland, said:

“Since 2015, we have championed Scottish produce which makes up almost a third of our suppliers. However, we are now looking at ways of sourcing more from the North West coast of Scotland and supporting production there.”
“We are pleased that the Taste Local Awards have been revived and Brakes Scotland are absolutely delighted to sponsor the Best Hotel category. We wish all the finalists the very best of luck and look forward to catching up with them all on the 27th February.”

The Taste Local Awards 2019 shortlisted finalists

Best Restaurant:
Edinbane Lodge www.edinbanelodge.com

Loch Bay www.lochbay-restaurant.co.uk

Red Roof www.redroofskye.co.uk


Best Restaurant with Rooms:
Coruisk House www.coruiskhouse.com

The Stein Inn www.stein-inn.co.uk
Ullinish Lodge www.theisleofskye.co.uk

Best Café or Coffee Shop:
An Crubh www.ancrubh.com
Beth's Deli & Café www.facebook.com/Beths-Coffee-Shop-331218066931759
Isle of Skye Baking Co www.isleofskyebakingco.co.uk

Best Community Café:
An Crubh www.ancrubh.com
Open Door Café www.facebook.com/Open-Door-Cafe-125675984169893


Best Pop up, Food Event or Takeaway:
Buth Bheag www.facebook.com/Buth-Bheag-the-wee-seafood-bar-deli-212022512144116

Carters Cabin www.facebook.com/carterscabinskye

Glendale Highland Market www.glendalehighlandmarket.com


Best Hotel:

Cuillin Hills Hotel www.cuillinhills-hotel-skye.co.uk 

Duisdale House Hotel www.duisdale.com

The Plockton Hotel www.plocktonhotel.co.uk

 

Best B&B or Guesthouse:
Coruisk House www.coruiskhouse.com
Hillstone Lodge www.hillstonelodge.com

Sea Drift B&B www.seadrift.co.uk 


Best Retailer:
Beth's Deli & Café www.facebook.com/Beths-Coffee-Shop-331218066931759
An Crubh www.ancrubh.com
Buth Bheag www.facebook.com/Buth-Bheag-the-wee-seafood-bar-deli-212022512144116

Best Pub:
Seamus' Bar www.sligachan.co.uk/seumas-bar

Stein Inn www.stein-inn.co.uk                                  

The Old Inn www.theoldinnskye.co.uk


Best Newcomer:
Beth's Deli & Café www.facebook.com/Beths-Coffee-Shop-331218066931759
Edinbane Lodge www.edinbanelodge.co.uk
Gasta at Armadale Castle www.gastaarmadale.co.uk

Share This